Who is Refugees@work?

Refugees@work is a network, a working group and a sharing space bringing together private companies and public institutions. The initiative promotes social innovation to facilitate the integration of refugees into the world of work in French-speaking Switzerland.

Refugees@work also coordinates communication campaigns through which the network makes available to companies, associations and public institutions the information necessary to facilitate the involvement of refugees.

Past Projects

Hackathon 2018

The first edition of the hackathon, in 2018, came from an idea of SDG Solution Space students. It brought together more than 100 people from various backgrounds (refugees, students, associations, international organizations, private companies, public institutions, etc.) around 7 challenges. 

The aim of the event was to promote the emergence of innovative practices in the field of professional integration of refugees, while encouraging dialogue between private and public actors. The partners of this edition were: Academic Horizon, the BIE (Bureau for the Integration of Foreigners) and the Alliance4Youth (Nestlé, Ernst & Young and Firmenich). The afterhack, three months later, gave the most promising projects the opportunity to present their ideas. The organisation Vivre Ensemble was able to put into practice its project, which was conceived during the hackathon.

Hackathon 2018

Hackathon 2019

For the second edition of the hackathon, the number of places was limited to about 60, while maintaining a wide diversity of people active in the relevant fields. This year, registration was open to everyone, which encouraged a surge of innovation during the idea development phase. The limited number of people allowed the teams to work more serenely and to benefit from better coaching for the social business plan or the pitch.

During the afterhack, the 5 teams chosen by Refugees@work were able to present their project to a jury composed of the following members: Abdallah Chatila (President, Sesam Foundation), Bettina Ferdman (Head of Development, FIDES Foundation), Céline Carrère (Future Director in charge of Interdisciplinarity and Governance of Interfaculty Centers, UNIGE), Laurence Briola (Head of NRCC, Nestlé) and Nicolas Roguet (Delegate for Integration of the Canton of Geneva). The association Flag21 was designated as having the most promising project.

This initiative was made possible through the support of

Contact persons

Metin Turker

Metin Turker

Project Manager

E-mail: metin.turker@etat.ge.ch
Tel : + 41 (0)22 546 74 88
Republic and Canton of Geneva 

Department of Social Cohesion
Office for the Integration of Foreigners
Route de Chancy 88
1211 Geneva 2

Mathieu Crettenand

Mathieu Crettenand

Integration Delegate

E-mail: mathieu.crettenand@unige.ch
Phone : +41 22 379 11 13
Fax : +41 22 379 11 80

University of Geneva
Rue Général-Dufour 24
1204 Geneva

Various photos

Various videos

Loading

Qui est Refugees@work ?

Refugees@work est un réseau, un groupe de travail et un espace de partage réunissant des entreprises privées et des institutions publiques. L’initiative promeut l’innovation sociale pour faciliter l’intégration des personnes réfugiées au monde du travail en Suisse romande.

Refugees@work coordonne également des campagnes de communication à travers lesquelles le réseau met à disposition des entreprises, des associations et des institutions publiques, les informations nécessaires pour faciliter l’engagement des personnes réfugiées.

Projets passés

Hackathon 2018

La première édition du hackathon, en 2018, est issue d’une idée d’étudiantes du SDG Solution Space. Elle a réuni plus de 100 personnes de divers horizons (personnes réfugiées, étudiant-es, associations, organisations internationales, entreprises privées, institutions publiques, etc.) autour de 7 défis. 

Le but de l’événement était de promouvoir l’émergence de pratiques innovantes en matière d’intégration professionnelle des personnes réfugiées, tout en favorisant le dialogue entre les acteurs privés et publics. Les partenaires de cette édition étaient : Horizon Académique, le BIE (bureau de l’Intégration des étrangers) et l’Alliance4Youth (Nestlé, Ernst & Young et Firmenich). L’afterhack, trois mois plus tard, a donné la possibilité aux projets les plus prometteurs de présenter leur idée. L’organisation Vivre Ensemble a d’ailleurs pu concrétiser son projet, imaginé au cours du hackathon.

Hackathon 2018

Hackathon 2019

Pour la deuxième édition du hackathon, les places ont été restreintes à environ 60, tout en conservant une grande diversité de personnes actives dans les domaines concernés. Cette année, les inscriptions étaient ouvertes à tout le monde, ce qui a favorisé un élan d’innovation durant la phase de développement des idées. Le nombre limité de personnes a permis aux équipes de travailler plus sereinement et de bénéficier d’un meilleur coaching pour le business plan social ou le pitch.

Durant l’afterhack, les 5 équipes choisies par Refugees@work ont pu présenter leur projet devant un jury composé des membres suivants : Abdallah Chatila (Président, Fondation Sesam), Bettina Ferdman (Responsable du Développement, Fondation FIDES), Céline Carrère (Future directrice en charge de l’interdisciplinarité et de la gouvernance des centres interfacultaires, UNIGE), Laurence Briola (Responsable du NRCC, Nestlé) et Nicolas Roguet (Délégué à l’intégration du canton de Genève). L’assocation Flag21 a été désignée comme ayant le projet le plus prometteur.

Cette initiative a été rendue possible grâce au soutien de

Personnes de contact

Metin Turker

Metin Turker

Chargé de projets

E-mail : metin.turker@etat.ge.ch
Tél : + 41 (0)22 546 74 88
République et Canton de Genève 

Département de la cohésion sociale
Bureau de l’intégration des étrangers
Route de Chancy 88
1211 Genève 2

Mathieu Crettenand

Mathieu Crettenand

Délégué à l’intégration

E-mail : mathieu.crettenand@unige.ch
Tél : +41 22 379 11 13
Fax : +41 22 379 11 80

Université de Genève
Rue Général-Dufour 24
1204 Genève

Diverses photos

Diverses videos

Loading